Musings on Growing Up

J.M. Barrie (from the movie Finding Neverland) : Young boys should never be sent to bed… they always wake up a day older.

After graduating from college, I’ve taken some time to reflect on the passage of time. To most of society, I’m now considered a fully fledged adult with all responsibilities and privileges. Yet, I don’t feel different or mature enough to be able to step into that role.

In five years or so, most of my peers will have married, have children, and have a career. Five years isn’t so long from now but I can not imagine being married, having children, or entrenched in a career path. To me, that’s still for “old people” or for the “grownups”. I haven’t yet truly realized that I am an adult.

I wonder if that’s how it is with everyone. They go on with their lives, never believing that they’ve truly grown up, always believing that they still have a few years before they truly are grown up, and all of a sudden, they wake up one day, look in the mirror, think about their mortgages and their kid’s soccer practice, and realize “MY GOD! I AM AN ADULT!”

Perhaps that is the reason for mid-life crises. I certainly hope it won’t be so much of a shock when I truly realize it for myself.

~ by cjt on July 3, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
