“A Parting Thought-In My Own Process” by Bruce Lee

Any attempt to write a “meaningful” article on how I, Bruce Lee, feel and think or express myself, is first of all a very difficult task, because I am still in my own process of learning, constantly discovering and constantly growing.

As though this assignment is not tough enough, I am in the midst of preparing my next movie, Enter the Dragon, a coproduction between Concord and Warner Bros., plus another Concord production, The Game of Death, which is only halfway done.  I have been busy and occupied with mixed emotions as of late.

Of course, this writing can be made less demanding should I allow myself to indulge in the usual manipulating game of role creation.  Fortunately for me, my self-knowledge has transcended that, and I’ve come to understand that life is best to be lived – not to be conceptualized.  I am happy because I am growing daily and honestly don’t know where my ultimate limit lies. 

To be certain, every day there can be a revelation or a new discovery that I can obtain.  However, the most gratification is yet to come: to hear another human being say “Hey, now here is something real!”  Oh I know, I am not called in to write any true confession, but I do want to be honest, that is the least a human being can do. 

Basically, I have always been a martial artist by choice, and an actor by profession.  But, above all, I am hoping to actualize myself to be an artist of life along the way.  By martial art, I mean like any art, it is an unrestricted athletic expression of an individual soul.  Oh yes, martial art also means daily hermitlike physical training to upgrade or maintain one’s quality.  However, martial art is also about unfolding the bare human soul, that is what interests me. 

Yes, I have grown quite a bit since the day when I first became a martial artist and am still growing along the process.  To live is to express oneself freely in creation.  Creation I must say is not a fixed something, a solidification. 

So I hope my fellow martial artists would open up and be transparently real, and I wish them well in their own process of finding their cause. 

~ by cjt on August 21, 2010.

5 Responses to ““A Parting Thought-In My Own Process” by Bruce Lee”

  1. Man, be sure to keep posting! I spent a whole morning going through all your posts, and read quite a few. It was a great experience for me, and for my english, since i’m a brazilian in process of learning it. Thanks for the V’s introduction and I Have a Dream speech.

  2. […] the final months of his short life, Bruce Lee wrote a personal essay, “In My Own Process” where he said, “Basically, I have always been a martial artist by choice and actor by […]

  3. […] books, many of which focused on martial arts and philosophy. Shortly before his death, Lee wrote a personal essay called "In My Own Process," where he reflected on his role in the world. "Basically, […]

  4. […] Any attempt to write a “meaningful” article on how I, Bruce Lee, feel and think or express myself, is first of all a very difficult task, because I am still in my own process of learning, constantly discovering and constantly growing. As though this assignment is not tough enough, I am in the midst of… — Read on storyspeaker.wordpress.com/2010/08/21/a-parting-thought-in-my-own-process-by-bruce-lee/ […]

  5. […] los últimos meses de su corta vida, Bruce Lee escribió un ensayo personal, «En mi propio procesodonde dijo: «Básicamente, siempre he sido un artista marcial por elección y un actor de […]

Leave a comment